Click on titles to download presentation slides.

Wednesday, May 20

11:00 a.m. Registration Open Regency Hall
Exhibitor Setup Imperial Hall
Student Poster Setup Salon B
1:00 p.m. Opening Session Salon C
Conference Overview
Andy Whittington, MBREC President
Mayor Gene McGee, City of Ridgeland
1:30 p.m. Opening Keynote Message
Ted Abernathy, Southern Growth Policies Board
Renewable Energy Technology and Systems
Sumesh Arora, Mississippi Technology Alliance
2:00 p.m. Cellulosic Ethanol
Vincent Chornet, Enerkem
Algae Oil
Gordon LeBlanc, PetroSun
Jeff Breeden, Biodiesel Logic, LLC
3:00 p.m. Break with Exhibitors and Student Posters Imperial Hall and Salon B
3:25 p.m. Green Fuels
Hayes Dent, Limerick Energy Inc.
Dr. Art Wiselogel, Antares Group Inc.
Will Hegman, Mississippi Solar, Inc.
Mark Stover, Hydro Green Energy
5:30 p.m. Networking Reception and Student Poster Voting Salon B
7:00 p.m. Dinner on your own  

Thursday, May 21

7:00 a.m. Breakfast Buffet Salon B
Registration Regency Hall
8:15 a.m. Welcome and Overview
Andy Whittington, MBREC President
Salon C
Government and Private Sector Perspectives on Energy Policy  
Brent Baily, 25x‘25 Initiative
8:30 a.m. Bioenergy and Energy Alternatives
Robert Fireovid, USDA-ARS
9:00 a.m. Bioenergy
Montgomery Simpson, Weyerhaeuser
Carbon/GHG Regulation
Todd Wooten, Nicholas Institute
Energy Efficiency
Alex Tapia, Southeast Energy Efficiency Alliance
Mark Warner, Gulf Coast Energy
10:20 a.m. Break with Exhibitors and Student Poster Voting  
10:45 a.m. Patrick Sullivan
Office of the Governor
Commissioner Lynn Posey
Mississippi Public Service Commission
Senator Billy Hewes
Mississippi Senate
Representative Greg Ward
Mississippi House of Representatives
Marcia Weaver
City of Vicksburg
12:00 noon Lunch Buffet Salon B
Luncheon Comments
David Waide, Mississippi Farm Bureau
Sponsor Recognitions  
Student Scholarship Award  
Student Poster Awards (Presentation by winners)  
Project Planning and Funding Options  
Dr. Joe Jordan, MSU Industrial Outreach Service
1:30 p.m. Dr. Betty Norman
Mississippi Development Authority-Energy Division
Dr. Randy Goldsmith
Mississippi Technology Alliance
Dr. Anthony Crooks
USDA-Rural Development
Dr. Randy Powell
3:30 p.m. Concluding Remarks
Andy Whittington, MBREC President
3:45 p.m. Adjourn  
4:00 p.m. Annual Membership Meeting of the Mississippi Biomass and Renewable Energy Council, Inc.